The exciting trip into the new World

21st of August 2015             

   USA New York, Washington D. C., Lancaster (Amish) Toronto, Niragara Falls, Watkins Glen Park 2015 (11)

After the preparation training for the volunteer service, without any sleep I took the train at 6 a.m. to the  airport of Hamburg.

The train to the airport was delayed, due to the police. They stopped the train in Bavaria, in order of migrants, who would like to have taken this train in direction to Sweden.

I had about 5 kg too much on board during the flight to Oslo. The only way to manage this, was wearing as many clothes as possible. Moreover, I wasn’t the only one, with too much hand luggage. The crew of the plane could not stow the hand luggage into the boxes, although not every seat wasn’t taken. One of these seats was on my right site, what made the flight more comfortable for me and my long legs.

Arriving in Oslo, I recognized, that my flight to New York was delayed.

Additionally, everybody had to leave the gate, due to a security check. That wasn’t helpful to catch up the time at all.

After changing the plane, I arrived nearly at midnight at New York J. F. Kennedy Airport.

„Welcome to the United States“ invited the two big screens in front of the border patrol in various languages, also in German. Not to forget the lucky family with two kids, which presented the wonderful places of the United States.

Nevertheless, I got a visa for one year, the border patrol told me, that this visa is just for a half year.

One thing, what was recommended to me had been: „Obey the police! They do not only right, they litterately have right!“

Without discussing I arrived at the tiny house of my couch surfer.

Surprisingly, there was a small house party, which finally ended around 2 a.m.

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Why be a volunteer? veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen

