„Cool down for clima change!“

22nd of October

Chicago, Milwaukee 2015 (2)

I enjoy the lazy American life style. I enjoy getting up half asleep in the morning and taking cold water with ice cubes from the magic fridge. In Germany it would take me minutes to hammer the ice cubes out of the form. Moreover, I would not be so relaxed, that I could go to bed and fall asleep again.

There is one thing that really bothers me. It seems like Americans could not survive without air conditioning. My host family e. g. has one air condition or fan for each room.

I never considered myself to be an eco-fanaticism and still have the same point of view. But how much energy you could save just by switching of the light and air condition during the day, when you leave the house. The result would be remarkable. It would take such a small effort to push the right button and save tons of carbon dioxide and a lot of money.

I am not sure if this is usual here. But since my arrival two months ago there was nearly no rain an only little days, when you need a sweater.

Today is the end of October, but it still feels like summer with lovely 27 degrees Celsius.

In the meanwhile the temperatures had been in Germany under 0 degrees and snow.

I am happy to be here.

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Why be a volunteer? veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen

