Getting closer to the Big Show

2nd of January 2016

St. Louis 2016 (25).jpg

Jesssica Hentoff

Today we run through all acts of the Big Show, which is every year in January. When I was about opening the circus door, Jessica asked where I have been and told me that everybody texted me. Nobody had texted me and actually I was 3 hours too early. In Circus Harmony is the name not allways describing the atmosphere in the circus. Jessica is the engine, the mostimportant person, which keeps the circus running and successful. I am not envy to have this job. Even she needs a lot of coffee to do it. Sometimes she is in such a hurry, which can affect wrong judgements. On the same evening I get a message, that the rehearsals will start today earlier. Moreover, it takes near 2 hours longer than it was scheduled. In addition, the mail pointed out that the schedule for next Saturday has completely changed. I am sure that in my former German circus people would complain about this change. Not so in Circus Harmony. Most kids do not have other hobbies. It goes without saying, that circus determinates the life of these kids and their families.

One hour before the show, Richard our juggler came up with the idea to give me cigar boxes instead, of juggling balls, since in the old famous American song „Take me out to the ball game“ (https://youtu.be/q4-gsdLSSQ0?t=43s) is about Cracker Jacks which look like cigar boxes. As you can imagine the show was medium successful. But this is one skill, which you learn in Circus Harmony Always style and smile no matter, what happens.

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Why be a volunteer? veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen

