Challah

21 of January

CAM00039.jpg

This evening I went to an jewish event called Next Door.
We were around 30 people, most of them young female social workers, who wanted to learn how to bake Challah. This is a traditional Jewish bread, which tastes sweet and is used for the ritual of Shabbat.
After mixing the dove, we braided a bun with it. On the top we could choose between different ingredients like poppy seeds and cinnamon and sugar. My first Challah looked very nice as long as it was not baked. Later on it looked like a heap. Nethertheless, I was proud and it tasted very delicious. Moreover, I had really nice conversations and one girl also offered me to drive me home, even though I told her three times that I can use the public transport and it would take her nearly an hour. Finally she took me home and also offered me to come for a Shabbat dinner to her house.

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Why be a volunteer? veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen

